What Grades Are Junior High

    What Grades Are Junior High

    What Grades Are Junior High

    Junior high school in the United States in grades 7-9 goes by different names depending on where you live. Some districts call it junior high; others call it intermediate or middle school. 

    Either way, junior high provides an exciting new set of challenges and experiences to look forward to, even though it can be an awkward time in your life. Here’s what you need to know about junior high grades 7-9 in the U.S. 

    What Grades Are Junior High?

    Junior high school, also called middle school, is an educational level that ranges from seventh to ninth grade (ages 11–14). 

    Some schools will start at sixth grade and go through eighth grade, while others may not have a sixth grade or even a middle/junior building; instead, all grades from first to eighth or even ninth-grade students could be housed together with little to no separation between them.

    The term junior high can be deceptive as it typically means middle. Still, it does not indicate any correlation with elementary or high schools.

    This is because they might exist independently and in conjunction with an elementary or high school as a separate unit within a district’s learning structure.

    Junior High School Grades

    Grade 7-8: The Grades you will be in next year. They are in Junior High School grades. The way it works is that you start at grade 7, and every year you go up a grade.

    So when you get to 8th grade, you graduate from jr high and move on to High School! If you do not pass all of your classes, then you have to repeat them until you do pass them. If you fail any of your classes for two years, you must go back to seventh grade again. This is called flunking or getting held back. 

    The grading system in U.S. schools can vary widely by state or even by district within a state.

    What constitutes an A, B, C, D, or F grade. Generally speaking

    In addition to letter grades (A through F), many schools also use plus (+) and minus (-) signs as modifiers to denote whether a student’s work is better than or worse than expected.

    These symbols, known as pluses and minuses, are typically used with numeric grades; for example, B+ means that a student performed better than expected for a B grade but not entirely up to expectations for an A.

    Some schools do not allow pluses or minuses on report cards; in these cases, teachers may write exceeding standards or do not meet standards in place of such modifiers.

    Grades explanation

    While it’s essential to be aware of what eighth-grade life is like, don’t forget that there are still benefits to being a junior in high school.

    For example, most schools have extracurricular activities for juniors and may even provide tutoring options to help you with classwork.

    Students at every grade level also benefit from parental involvement. If you have younger siblings, you could also try mentoring them from time to time.

    Having friends at home, online and in-person can help take your mind off any stressful situations you encounter throughout eighth grade (and help make things more fun).

    Even though it will be stressful sometimes, keep in mind that many students look back on their eighth-grade years as some of their best experiences so far!

    Junior High School, Grades 7-9:

    English, Math’s, Science, Foreign Language, and Social Studies.

    Junior High School includes grades 7-9 and serves ages 11 to 14; students who have completed grade 6 will attend Junior High School and be prepared for High School success by taking classes such as math and social studies.

    Junior High students typically take five classes each day, with more free time during what would be referred to as lunch break at an elementary school, with study hall replacing recess for some students. Also, older middle schools may have removed these events altogether from their curriculums.

    The Downside of Junior High School

    Junior High Schools form an integral part of all American education systems. Still, they also have their own set of pros and cons.

    In some ways, they’re good because students get a chance to experience real-world situations that would not be possible in elementary schools.

    For example, older kids generally move at their own pace. They are free to decide who they want to sit with during lunchtime, rather than being forced into cliques randomly.

    These experiences can help older children become more independent, gain valuable social skills, and ultimately lead them toward a successful transition into adulthood.

    It can be challenging for parents of sixth graders to believe junior high school is right around the corner.

    Junior high school typically lasts three years and is an essential step in a child’s educational development. They gain independence while honing their social skills and preparing for high school.

    The distinction between junior high and middle high school grades

    According to educators and administrators, junior high prepares pupils for high school without putting them in classes alongside older teenagers and primary school children since it allows them to work on their academic subjects more effectively.

    However, in most nations, junior high schools are for students in grades 7 to 9, whereas middle schools are for students in grades 6 to 8.

    Junior high students must attend six to eight classes based on their study subjects. In contrast, middle school students must attend lessons covering various disciplines for at least two hours or more.


    We hope you enjoyed this blog post about what grades are in junior high school. You may be a parent of a child about to enter junior high school, or you may be a junior high school student. Either way, we hope that we were able to provide you with some helpful information on this topic. 

    Junior high schools serve kids in grades seven through nine, whereas middle schools serve students in grades seven through eight. As a result, middle school students begin high school in the ninth grade, and junior high students begin high school in the tenth grade.